2011: The Year That Was

Only a few hours left in 2011 so it is a good time to reflect on this crazy year. It was a year of ups and downs, really amazing times and truly difficult times. My first full calendar year in New York City! So here are the highlights, not many of the lowlights and the things that truly stand out:

  • Alyssa and Jason got married! It was a really lovely day, I’m so honored that I got to be a little part of it.
  • I got promoted to Accounting Manager, thus losing most of the confidence I had in what I do for a living every day. 🙂 But I did gain a bigger paycheck, a cooler title, and a hell of a lot more responsibility.
  • Killed my first cockroach.
  • Went through my first hurricane.
  • Attended my first Broadway opening night at Lysistrata Jones
  • Attended my LAST midnight movie – Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Pt2
  • Tried absynthe for the first time
  • Smoked my last cigarette (very sad)
  • Saw a lot of shows: Book of Mormon, Anything Goes, Sister Act, Priscilla Queen of the Desert, Baby It’s You, That Championship Season, Catch Me If You Can, Billy Elliot, Seminar, Jerusalem, Wicked, Follies, Hugh Jackman, Private Lives, Lysistrata Jones, Company, Close Up Space, Radio City Christmas Spectacular, American Idiot and How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying4 TIMES!
  • Saw Scissor Sisters live at the Grammercy Theater
  • Danced two people away from Chris Colfer!!!
  • Went to the Glee Concert on 24 hour notice
  • Traveled to D.C. a few times, Boston a few times and Cape Cod a whole bunch of times.
  • Went to the New York Arts Show in February
  • My grandfather passed away in August
  • Spent most of January sick as a dog.
  • Spent most of the rest of the year wanting to get a dog.
  • Bought a guitar
  • Came in first in the pumpkin contest at work, second in the costume contest
  • Went to the Broadway.com awards where I was around so many Broadway people it blew my mind.
  • Won employee of the month
  • Made some new friends and managed to keep the ones I already had…I think 🙂
  • Got a new couch
  • Drank way too much but had fun doing it
  • Spent way way too much
  • Got an iPhone that I’m now addicted to
  • Got back onto my happy pills, to the relief of everyone around me.
  • Kept so busy that I don’t know how it’s already going to be 2012.

I’m sure I’m forgetting things and I’m omitting some of the more unpleasant aspects of the year. Seems like this one was a trying year for a lot of us. However, it’s been my experience that the odd numbered years are usually the most tumultuous. So if you got through 2011 and it was hard, I bet you 2012 will be a whole lot better.

Except that I’ll be that much closer to 30…but that’s a problem for 2013. 🙂

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

~ by LMB on 12/31/2011.

One Response to “2011: The Year That Was”

  1. Happy new year! Hmm, did I know you got a guitar?

Leave a Reply

 
